Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Egil kills Bard

Just as I was finishing my second verse the horn split and the poison drink spilled to the floor. Olvir was about to pass out so I carried him to the dark doorway. Bard came after us and asked Olvir to drink a parting toast. I took the horn intended for Olvir. I drank it down and made a third verse.

I’m drunk and Olvir

Is ashen-faced with ale,

This brew from the beast’s horn

Bubbled through my lips;

Your feet won’t follow

Instructions old fellow,

Though my poetry patters

And pours like rain on you.

 

Hidden by the dark doorway I drew my sword and plunged it through Bard. It came out his back and blood spilled over the floor. At that moment Olvir collapsed as he vomited over himself and Bard. I raced off into the night.

People noticed the two men laying in the doorway. The king had a light brought over and they saw what had happened. The king asked people who I was and then ordered all the boats on the island to be seized so that I could not escape. A search party was assembled to hunt me down.

The king said “Tomorrow when it is daylight, we’ll scour the whole island and kill him!”

Red Banner

