Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The estate owner had tied us up to poles. I was able to pull my pole out of the ground. I untied my binds with my teeth and then freed my men. We broke into another room and heard voices coming from a pit in the floor.

I found the trap door and raised it. There were three men in the pit. One of the three men said he was called Aki and was a captured Dane. He and his two sons were used as slaves on the estate but had escaped. They were then put in the pit to avert other attempted escapes. Aki was familiar with the layout of the estate and showed us to the estate owners house.  We took jewels and other wealth from the estate and escaped.

I thought “What kind of warriors are we that we steal without fighting?”

I dropped the large jewel case I was carrying and had Aki lead us back to where everyone was gathered in a wooden hall. We grabbed logs that were burning in the kitchen and set the hall afire. As they attempted to escape the fire we cut them down one by one until all were dead.

We returned to our ship with Aki and his two sons. I kept the jewel case full of silver for myself.

Red Banner

