Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Daughter

When Thorolf and I landed back in Norway we parted company with Aki and his two sons. They became great farmers and landholders back in Denmark.

We landed near an Earl called Arnvind. He sent a group of men down to determine if we were going to raid him or if we looking for shelter. We told them ‘shelter’ and they took the message back to the earl. He in turn sent down horses for us to ride up to his estate for a feast.

Arnvind the Earl put on a great feast. He had us put our tokens in a hat and then he picked them out for the purpose of seating and which man would sit with which woman. I sat with the earl’s daughter. She marched up and down looking for attention. I took her seat. When she returned I refused to give her seat back. She made a verse.

Why linger, little lad,

I’d like to sit alone,

What wolves did you feed

Ever on warm flesh?

Did you revel with the raven,

Red-beaked in autumn gore?

You’re keen to shun the slice

Of the sharp cutting-edge.

 

I picked her up and set her beside me so that I could respond to this contest of words.

 

I’ve borne the bloodstained sword

And bitter spear-shaft,

The raven at my right hand

As we raiders strode forward.

Burning for battle

We made their barns blaze,

Gory at their gates

Groaned those fast sleepers.

 

We stayed until the next day and the earl put on another feast just as good as the first. Thorolf and I agreed to return to the ships and selected some nice gifts to give to the earl. We parted as good friends and often met the earl on those same terms.

Red Banner

 

