Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The_Magic_Crystal_1894

We went to see Cheiftan Thorir and his son Arinbjorn. I overheard a discussion between Thorir and Arinbjorn. It was about whether or not to allow Thorolf and I to stay there for the winter.

“I don’t know how King Eirik is going to take it” was one of Thorir’s remarks. Arinbjorn must have won the argument because Cheiftan Thorir asked us to stay; along with our twelve men.

We met two brothers called Thorvald the Overbearing and Thorfinn the Strong. They followed Thorolf everywhere. I decided that if I ever got my own ship Thorfinn would make a good forecastleman.

Cheiftan Thorir visited the king late in winter. The subject of Thorolf and I came up. Thorir told us what had occurred.

He had apologized for taking us in without talking to him first. King Eirik said “If it was any man but Egil. But since it was you, Thorir, who took him in I will accept that.”

Queen Gunnhild interjected “You’ve got a short memory about your good man Bard that Egil murdered.”

King Eirik replied “More than any other person, Gunnhild, you would like to turn me into a savage.”

The queen responded “Thorolf was doing fine here until Egil came with him and spoiled everything; but now one is no different than the other.”

Red Banner

