Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Adils rides out

When King Æthelstan arrived and was told of how all his delays had worked he was pleased. He said to Olaf’s messengers “Tell your king that I give him leave to go back to Scotland with all his men. He must leave behind all plunder that he has gathered. After that we can declare peace between our kingdoms but he must become my liegeman and gather tribute from Scotland for me. Now take that back to your king.”

Olaf was livid at the offer.

Then Earl Adils from Wales spoke up; “It is happening sir just as I told you it would. These English are tricky people to deal with. While we have been sitting here they have used the time to gather their whole army. Allow my brother and I to ride out at once. We may be able to break up their force with a surprise.”

King Olaf agreed and the two brothers from Wales rode out with their forces.

Red Banner

