Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thorolf's Buriel

While his troops chased down the remaining enemy King Æthelstan returned to the base camp.

I stayed with the troops and searched for any living men. I killed anyone I could get my hands on.

I then returned to look for Thorolf’s body. Upon finding it I followed the custom of washing it and preparing it for burial. I placed two golden bracelets on him; one on each arm. We dug a burial place and gently put Thorolf in in it. The men helped me carry many stones to seal the grave and then we placed earth on top of the stones. I then made a verse in Thorolf’s honor.

 

The earl’ killer,

Who cringed to no man,

Fell, the fierce Thorolf

Fighting like a warrior.

Beneath Vina’s green bank

Lie my brother’s bones,

Sure is my sorrow

Though I show no grief.

 

I remained there for quite some time after Thorolf’s other men had drifted away. There was an emptiness in my chest and I needed to make another verse.

 

West over water

I wallowed in the slain-stack,

Angry my Adder struck

Adils in the battle-storm.

Olaf played the steel game,

The English his enemies;

Hring sought the raging blades,

No ravens went hungry.

Red Banner

