Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Egils silver chests

While we were all eating, drinking and talking the king had two large chests brought into the hall. Both of them were full of silver.

He opened them and said “Both of these are for you Egil. When you get back home to Iceland I want you to give them to your father for compensation for his son’s life, though some of the money is to be shared between you and the kinsmen of Thorolf and yourself. As compensation for yourself I offer you land or moveables, whichever suits you best, and if you chose to stay I offer you a place of honor and worth. You only have to say what you want.”

I took the money and thanked the king for his gifts and his words. This honor made me wish to make a verse.

 

In bitterness my brows

Beetled over my eyes;

Now my forehead has found one

to smooth its furrows;

The king has conquered

My louring cliff-face,

The granter of gifts,

The gold-finger.

Red Banner

