Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Athelstan gives Egil two gold bracelets

 

I spent that winter with King Æthelstan and my wounded men. The king was more than kind to me. I felt a desire to write a verse for him.

 

The royal warrior rises

Above his realm,

The pride of three princes

Ælla’s stem overpowers;

Countries are conquered

By Æthelstan the King,

All kneel to the noble

And generous knight.

 

 

I then added this refrain;

 

Now the Highlands, deer-haunted,

Lie humbled by Æthelstan.

 

The king was pleased with my verse and gave me two gold bracelets; each of them half a mark in weight. He then removed the expensive cloak he was wearing and placed it over my shoulders.

I informed the king that when spring arrived I was going back to Iceland to tend to Asgerd, Thorolf’s wife. “There is a good deal of money involved that needs to be settled” I told him.

The king once again made me an offer of land if I stayed. I impressed upon him my need to tend to business in Iceland. He told me if I ever returned to England the offer would still remain. I thanked him again and said I may do that.

I had a longboat with one hundred and twenty men aboard. We sailed to Norway to visit Thorir but he had died while I was away. Arinbjorn had inherited Thorir’s estate. He invited us to stay. We found housing for most of my men but eleven and myself stayed with Arinbjorn for that summer and the entire winter.

Red Banner

