Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Egil marries Asgerd

 

I asked Arinbjorn if he would help me win her hand. “I will gladly speak to her on your behalf” he responded.

I finally spoke up and asked Asgerd if she would be my wife. She deferred, once again, and said that she would seek advice from her father and Arinbjorn before answering. Arinbjorn and Bjorn, Asgerd’s father put their heads together and came to agreement. They would support the marriage.

It was a wonderful summer. Everything seemed right. Nothing could go wrong. A wedding feast was planned and the marriage took place.

This left me in good spirits for the remainder of the winter.

The following spring I readied a merchant ship for a trip to Iceland. Arinbjorn had warned me that it would be dangerous to stay in Norway.

“Queen Gunnhild’s power is great and she hates you bitterly. Things have taken a turn for the worse since you met Eyvind at Jutland.”

I had favorable winds that autumn and made straight away for Borgarfjord. I had been out of Iceland for twelve years and missed my father Skallagrim. Apparently he must have missed me to because he was very happy to see me.

Red Banner

