Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Egil challenges a duel

 

The hall was a mess. Men were everywhere and the din was deafening.

I hollered out “Can Berg-Onund hear what I say?”

“I can hear you” he replied.

I told him “I challenge you to a duel, winner take all.”

King Eirik spoke up. “If you wish to duel, Egil, we will grant you that favor right now.”

I spoke. “I do not wish to fight you here. Not on these terms. But when I get a chance to fight you on even terms I will not run away.”

Arinbjorn said “Let us get out of here. There is nothing that will help us with our case.”

I turned to the hall at large and spoke. “I forbid anyone here from taking land, renting land or taking property from the estate of Bjorn the Yoeman until this matter is settled to my satisfaction. Is that clear?”

We departed the hall with all our men. Boats and skiffs and ferries took each man to his own place. I was ahead of Arinbjorn’s long boat. I made a verse.

 

The heir of Thorn-Foot,

Theif of the inheritance,

Has looted my legacy

And threatens my life:

Can I repay the pillage

Of my ploughed fields?

There is something to strive for,

Money is at stake.

Red Banner

