Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

King Eirik burns Egils Merchant Ship

The king was furious about what I had said – – – that no one was to touch Bjorn the Yoeman’s estate.

He assembled a fleet of longships and came after me. By nightfall I had taken the skiff back to my merchant ship and was ready to sail in the morning.

Just before dawn the guards spotted the king’s fleet of six long-ships. They were coming straight at us. I ordered some of my men to grab the two chests full of silver that King Athelstan had given me. I always kept them close to me. Many of us jumped into the skiff and being faster, we rowed right between the king’s ship and shore. As we passed, I hurled a spear and buried it into a man’s chest.

The king set fire to my merchant ship and murdered all those aboard.

I made a verse.

 

Now the bitter bearer

Of the blazing war-blade

Has taken ten

Of my trusted followers:

But my salmon-like spear

Settled the score

When I cast it through

the curved ribs of Ketil.

Red Banner

