Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

King Eirik Kills His Brothers

The same summer that I had such bad luck with King Eirik, Queen Gunnhild, the Gula Assembly and Berg-Onund other things were occurring. Possibly that is why King Eirik was not in a good mood. He fought and killed his two brothers so that there would be no competition for the throne. I have no doubt that Queen Gunnhild put him up to this horrible deed.

Berg-Onund stayed close to home with his men. It was said that he was afraid to go sailing for fear I would show up.

The king put together a hunting party for me. He invited Arinbjorn to go with him. That is when Arinbjorn told me to go to the fishing village of  Vitar. It was out of the normal path and I would be away from the king’s normal haunts and routes.

The king had a foster son by the name of Frodi. The king told Frodi to go to Berg-Onund’s estate and help him. Berg-Onund had a brother by the name of Hadd and he also stayed with Frodi and Berg-Onund.

The king, before setting out on his mission, had declared me an outlaw in Norway.

As it turned out, the little village of Vitar was a good source of news. All of the fishermen who were going here and there brought back the latest news. When I heard that King Eirik had named me an outlaw I made the following verse.

 

Land-spirit,long the road

The law-breaker makes me walk,

Banished by the brother-killer

And his bitter woman:

Cunning and cruel

The character of Gunnhild,

But no beating about

The bush for young Egil.

 

Red Banner

