Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

857

 

Word had reached England that Eirik All-Wise had died. He was the husband of Thora, Arinbjorn’s sister. She had inherited control over Cheiftan Thorir’s property when he died.

At that time King Hakon, who was King Harald Fair-Hair’s son and King Æthelstan’s foster son, illegally claimed all of the Property of Eirik All-Wise.

There was a legal claimant to the property of Eirik All-Wise. That was the son of Thora and Eirik All-wise. His name was Thorstein, nephew of Arinbjorn.

Arinbjorn and Thorstein went to see King Æthelstan and showed him the papers that gave him the rightful ownership of the property that Hakon had illegally taken. King Æthelstan had papers prepared to present to Hakon.

I approached King Æthelstan and told him that I wished to go to Norway with Thorstein when he claimed his property. My purpose was to re-claim my property that Eirik Blood-Axe and Queen Gunnhild had taken from me. The king said he did not care where I traveled. He offered me the position of being head of his army if I would stay in England.

I told him that it was a good offer but first I must return to Iceland and bring my money and wife back to England. He gave me a fine ship loaded with provisions and papers stating that he agreed with my claim to the land that had been twice cursed; once by me and once by Queen Gunnhild.

Thorstein and I went to Norway where he claimed his land without incident. My eleven men and I spent that winter at Thorstein’s estate.

Red Banner

