Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Egill Skallagrímsson engaging in holmgang

As we rested I made the third verse.

 

I feel this flashing swordsman

Falls back when I force him;

He’s afraid, this unfortunate

Over-fed fighter.

The blodd-sucking battler

Backs away from my blows,

And beats a retreat

From the bald-headed bard.

 

I told Ljot to get up and back into the stone circle.

The duel resumed and once again I pressed him. He backed up too fast and his shield was of no use to him. That was when I caught him above the knee and took his leg off. He died on the spot. I made a fourth verse.

 

The foul wolf-eater

Fell flat on the ground,

The leg of Ljot

Lanced off by the bard.

This poet gave Fridgeir peace

But seeks no payment,

This play with the pale-face

Was a pleasure to me.

 

Ljot was from Sweden and had come to Norway for one purpose. To challenge farmers to duel, kill them, and then claim their property. He had gained several farms with his game. Because he was a foreinger, he no longer had rights to the property he had gained through these ill actions. I told Fridgeir to claim then in my name.

I then went to my property to ask Thord for his help in re-claiming it.

Red Banner

