Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Egil returns to Norway

It was time for me to visit Arinbjorn. I had not seen my old friend in several years. I put to sea in my long-ship.

There was a man in Iceland who I greatly admired. We had traveled around Iceland together for several years. Some said he was a shape-changer but I had never witnessed it.

His name was Onund Sjoni. But first I had to visit with Arinbjorn.

We put in near Arinbjorn’s farm and traveled inland to see him. He gave me a great welcome and said that I should stay at his farm with as many men as I wanted. I accepted the offer and chose eleven of my men to stay with me. The others were able to find additional lodging.

I presented a beautiful long-ship sail that I had made especially for him. Arinbjorn was taken back by the expensive gift.

That Christmas Arinbjorn made a great feast. He invited many of his nearby friends to join in this feast which lasted for several days.

Arinbjorn presented gifts to everyone. When it was time for my gift he gave me a precious long silk gown with gold buttons and fully embroidered. The gold buttons reached from my neck down to the foot of the gown. He also gave me several sets of cloths made of fine English cloth in many colors.

Arinbjorn was a very generous man. I made the following verse for him.

 

The great man gave me

The gold-spun silk gown,

Freely he conferred it,

No finer friend than he.

Arinbjorn has power

That compares with prince’s;

Long the wait

Till his like lives again.

Red Banner

