Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Egil Deserted

King Hakon decided to collect tribute from the territories that his father had collected tribute from. One of these was Vermaland.

Hakon had sent a group of twelve men to collect the tribute. They did so but were ambushed on their return. All twelve were murdered and the money was stolen.

Hakon sent a second group and the same fate was in store for them.

The king then sent a messenger to Thorstein Thoruson, Arinbjorn’s nephew. Thorstein had returned to Norway from England for the purpose of re-claiming his land.

The messenger told Thorstein that he had an assignment from King Hakon. Thorstein was to go to Vermaland and collect the tribute.

I advised Thorstein not to do this. It was a plot by the king. Arinbjorn had self-exiled to Denmark and the king wanted any friend or kin of Arinbjorn dead.

I told the messenger that I would be taking Thorstein’s place. It was agreed to.

I later found out that the messenger had others with him and they agreed to kill me while on the way to Vermaland. That way they would engraciate themselves with the king.

I went to my ship to gather some of my own men. I expected to find Onund Sjoni and others there but they were gone; all except three.

Red Banner

