Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Egil carves runes

 

We found a farmer by the name of Thorfinn. He gave us breakfast.

I found out from some of Thorfinn’s help that six heavily armed men had been seen passing by his farm. They were not sure if it was the king’s envoys or not.

As we sat eating I saw a young girl who apparently was very ill. I asked Thorfinn what the trouble might be. He informed me that it was his daughter and she had been unable to sleep and was becoming very thin. He said that no one knew what the trouble was but a young neighbor had carved runes for her and set them nearby. They did not appear to be working.

I told Thorfinn that I did not know about curing diseases but I did know about carving runes and that maybe I could help.

I went to where the girl laid and looked at the runes that were carved on an ox-horn. They appeared not to be sufficient and may have even done harm. Taking my knife I scraped the horn until the runes were gone. I gathered the dust and threw it in the fire. After a sufficient time the girl did not get better. I then threw the whole horn into the fire. While it burned I carved new runes on a board and had Thorfinn toss all the bedclothes to the winds.

I placed the new runes beneath the girls bed and waited. She soon started to recover and smiled at Thorfinn. He asked how she felt and she responded positively.

Thorfinn thanked me and offered to help me in my endeavors wherever he could.

I told my men that we should be on our way.

Red Banner

