Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

First battle in aida 2

 

Thorfinn had a mighty son called Helgi. When I decided to go forward in the Eida Wood Thorfinn and Helgi offered to go with  me. I made a verse.

 

No six enemies on earth

Dare use their arms on me

If I’ve four good fellows

To aid me in fight.

And if I have eight men

No twelve could ever

Scare me, the black browed

Bard of th battle-storm.

 

I allowed Thorfinn and his men to go with me.

It was not too long before we encountered eight men; apparently Armod’s farm hands. When they saw us they turned and departed.

I told Thorfinn that he should take his men and return home. He gave me a good argument but when he saw I was becoming upset he agreed and took Helgi and his men back home.

Late that afternoon there were six men hiding in the bush. As we came near them they leaped out of the bush and attacked us. I killed two of them immediately and the remaining four ran off into the forest.

All was quiet through the remainder of Aida Wood. We came to the farm of a rather strange man. Although he had a nice farm he only wanted one or two servants. He was very friendly to us. He was very inquisitive about the King of Norway and asked many questions. It was apparent that he had no use for the man or his earls.

Alf was very hospitable and gave us good lodging.

Red Banner

