Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

egilssagaiceland

 

From Thorfinn and Helga’s home we traveled back to Thorstein’s farm. We were thoroughly welcome and our wounds were tended.

I informed Thorstein about the trip and that we were successful in obtaining the tribute. I informed Thorstein that he should quickly have the tribute delivered to the king.

He did so. The messengers that delivered the tribute returned. The told Thorstein how pleased the king was. They said that the king immediately sent a large troop of men to deal with the thieving earl.

The king also sent a message to Thorstein. The king wanted him to know that he was welcome to stay in Norway and that all past bad feelings no longer existed.

Thorstein was very pleased with what I had done for him. He bestowed many expensive gifts on me.

That summer I made my mechant ship ready to sail to Iceland. The great long-ship that I obtained in Denmark was given to Thorstein as a gift.

I made contact with my wife’s brother, Thord, and told him he was my agent and that he should sell all the property that I owned in Sogn and Hordaland. I knew he may have a hard time finding buyers because of the curses that I and Queen Gunnhild had put on the land.

The winds were favorable and I sailed up Borgarfjord until I reached home. I had all the cargo taken to my home and had the ship hauled to shore.

My family and I were all overjoyed to spend some time together.

Red Banner

