Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Shipwreck

It was a sad day. My men were sent to buy collected lumber on another fjord. My son Bodvar was getting to be a man and asked to go with them. I allowed him to go.

When it was time to depart an ebb tide held them back. When the ebb subsided a gale arose. The fjord was a foamy monster. It broke the ship apart and all hands perished; including my beloved Bodvar.

When I learned of this I rode to where the accident occurred and searched for Bodvar’s body. On finding it I lifted him up on my knee and rode to where my father was buried. We opened the grave and place Bodvar with Skalagrim.

I went home and directly to my bedroom. I locked the door behind me and went into a daze.

After a few days my wife Asgerd sent for my daughter Thorgerd. It was only then that she learned what had happened. She rode all night and came to the door on my bedroom. She demanded to enter and I allowed it.

She used trickery, a horn full of milk, and a pledge to die with me if this is what was necessary. Finally a little pull on my ego brought me out of the daze. I had recently lost another son, Gunnar, and this ensured that a rune of it would be carved on a log.

Red Banner

