Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Althing

THE ALTHING

 

That same day it became apparent to Steiner that something had occurred with Thrand. He rode out and found the bloody knoll with the new grave.

He then rode to Thorstein’s home and confronted him. Thorstein told Steiner exactly how it happened.

“So you have now killed two of my slaves?” asked Steiner.

“I have” said Thorstein. He continued “I have told you not to have your slaves pasture your cattle on my land. Yet you insist on ordering them to continue the practice. If you send another slave to do the same thing I will kill him also.”

Steiner went home and had his people drive the cattle back on his own land.

The next day he rode around the territory attempting to get men on his side of the argument. He told them that at the next Assembly of the Althing he was going to demand compensation for two slaves and also have Thorstein deemed an “outlaw.”

Thorstein did not attempt to gather men on his side of the argument.

A little later that winter he had some men deliver goods to me at Mosfell. The men told me of the incident. I asked about the details and they shared them along with the news that the case would be heard at the Spring Assembly at Althing.

Red Banner

