Tags

, , , ,

I get a lot of questions about why I departed New York and my great paying job of bricklaying.

Well, part of the draw was just getting out of New York, both the city and the state.

Yes – – – the city had a lot of action and fun things to do.

But I could not stand the corruption any longer.

Everybody remembers that it all started with the politics of Tammany Hall. However, hardly anyone has met the goons that “the hall” hired to enforce their wishes.

Yes, Monk Eastman was a big player for Tammany Hall – – – until they had no more use for him.

Tammany Monk Eastman photo

Then they put him on trial.

Tammany Trial Record heading

And it was a rather exciting trial.

Tammany Trial Record body

Of course he was found guilty.

 

Now I shouldn’t be so harsh on New York City. The “Battery Park” on the southern end of Manhattan was a real nice place to sit and watch the boats while the trains puffed and tooted in the background.

Tammany Battery Park

And you could get around to almost any place on the train.

Tammany Walkway to train station

But those guys in Tammany Hall were always in the background and we all knew it.

Tammany finger pointing

And I could see nothing was ever going to change.

Ever – – – – – – –

As I Wander Introduction 2

©W. Tomosky

