Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Now – – – I really liked Moosic – – -and Rocky Glen was a great amusement park – – – but I had to brag about Coney Island.

However, I first had to explain why anyone would go to Coney Island.

For me it was just the escape from the hustle-and-bustle of Times Square. Anyone can see how busy it was.

Coney Times Square

And once you got out of that area you had to fight your way downtown and past Cortlandt Street where Tammany Hall and Monk Eastman had set up shop.

Coney Downtown

And then across the East River foot bridge if you wished to walk.

Coney East River Bridge

I think the kids had the most fun in Coney Island.

Coney pony rides

But the girls sure were pretty in their bathing dresses.

Coney Girls in surf

This is the mobbed entrance to Coney Island. Everybody is dressed up. Probably a holiday.

Coney entrance

I never got inside Dreamland. It was a big miss for me.

Coney dreamland

This slide is prettier than Rocky Glen’s but not as fast.

Coney Slide

But now it is going all modern on us.

Oh well.

As I Wander Introduction 2

©W. Tomosky
