Episode Three

The Short Stories of Waldo

The sad man who had just finished his sobbing continued sitting on a log. I offered him a cigarette. We finished our smokes in silence. Finally he spoke.

“When I was a young man I loved the mountain streams and the woods. There was nothing more enjoyable than the solitude. Now don’t get me wrong. I was not a laggard. I enjoyed work also. Have you ever cut and split wood?”

Not waiting for my answer he continued.

“The streams and woods are great for refreshing your mind. But cutting and splitting wood is good for the soul. You are exhausted when you finish and there is a great sense of relief when it is done. Well – – – maybe it is not just relief – – – it is a feeling of relief and satisfaction that when combined – – – well, it just makes you feel good…

View original post 129 more words

