Episode Seventeen

The Short Stories of Waldo

With his life in the Jesuit order fully described the man asked me to wait for a minute. He said that he would be return immediately.

I watched him as he stood up and walked down the small stream for a distance of a hundred feet or so. When he reached the place where a tiny spring fed into the stream he turned and walked along a short path. He lifted the large flat stone that covered the spring and removed something.

Returning in a minute, just as promised, he held two cold bottles of beer. He offered me one and I accepted it with gratitude.

I took a few sips from the green long-neck bottle and waited for the sad man to continue. He did not disappoint me. This time he appeared much more exuberant about his search for the lost thought.

**********************

“I was running out of options…

View original post 339 more words

