Tags

, , , , ,

Adirondack Cataract

This is not the largest cataract that I have ever seen in the Adirondacks; but it is the most dangerous. Look at the teeth on that monster. It is just waiting to chew up its next victim. That is why I call it “The Maw.”

It is dangerous to canoeists because they cannot hear the upcoming danger.

It is dangerous to me because I still think there are nice brookies to be caught at the base of each tooth. The little pockets don’t offer a lot of water for those trout to swim around in. However they do offer a trap for insects and food to get caught in. Any trout that are trapped in these pools are going to be well fed and strong fighters.

You know where I am going with this. Yep; fishing in those little pockets. I wish I had a ten inch brookie for each time I slipped on the rocks and fell or slid down a few of these teeth. It usually keeps me from fishing there for a month or two. As soon as the wounds heal I forget about what happened last time and go right back to challenge “The Maw.”

As I said, there are other cataracts in these North Woods. There is a dangerous but smooth one in the northern foothills near Burke Center. It is dangerous to people who choose to canoe. Once again it is a surprise because the water flows over a large round megalithic precipice. You cannot see it because of the bend in the river. It is a killer on canoes.

However, it is very round and smooth, so not many people have been maimed there.

Be careful of these cataracts.

They remind me of those painted ladies that come here from Boston; pretty to look at but dangerous to be in their midst.

Tahawas and Tomosky c

 

