Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sweet Brother of Shannon

Boy oh boy.

Am I ever glad you came back to my cabin today. I found some papers in my old tin Tea Cabinet that reminded me of something.

That cabinet sure came in handy. Keeps the mice from chewing up my old papers and making a nest out of them.

After you left yesterday I got thinking about Cousin “De La Marte” – – – ahem – – – well excuse my French – – – or Spanish – – – or whatever it is supposed to be.

In any case, or any language, I got to thinking about that photo of the old redwood that he – – – Cousin Delamarter- – – and Sweet Shannon, from the Emerald Isle, had their picture taken with.

You know that picture – – – the one with the guy on the ladder.

Anyway, I got to sorting through my old papers. I knew I had another photo of Cousin Delamarter somewhere in the pile. If I am not mistaken I may even have a letter or two from Aunt Lizbeth with a few more pictures. I’ll keep scout’n ‘round till I find them. It may take a day or two.

Well, there they are in that picture. Him – – – Cousin Delamarter – – – and the ladder guy holding that big two man saw. All I want to know is where did they stand while cutting that notch?

Surely it was not on the ground – – – except for the bottom slice.

Sweet Mother of the Spirit of Blue Lake!

That other guy and yesterday’s guy on the ladder are the same person. That is Sweet Shannon of Hibernia’s brother! No wonder that face was bothering me.

But that is another story for another day. Back to logging.

They must have sharpened their saw every five minutes to get such a nice clean cut.

You should see the cuts and restarts and wedges and pulleys that I have to use on my big hemlocks. Nothin’ as neat as you see right there in the photo.

I was thinking that they must have had the saw bind up on them a few times. How did they ever get it out?

Then I spotted those two vertical dark marks on the top of the notch. See ‘em? Right there were the veins of the tree are the widest. They must have drove two iron shafts down the notch as it was partly cut out.

That makes sense doesn’t it? Cut the notch first – – – wedge the cut open with the iron shafts – – – keep cutting to the bottom. Then attack the horizontal cut. If the saw binds on the horizontal cut – – – well then you have the nerf cut made on the notch to use in your favor. Cut a bit, wedge a bit, cut a bit, wedge a bit. The top nerf cut on the upper wedge the redwood allowed a little room to free the saw.

That’s too big and too expensive a saw to leave stuck in an old redwood.

Sounds like risky business to me.

Tahawas and Tomosky c

