This, that, - - - and the other thing

opening day

It was ten in the evening,

on March thirty first,

my equipment uninspected,

I dreaded the worst.

 

Imagining rotted line, rusty swivels,

and old dead bait,

I knew when I hit the sack,

it would be very late.

 

It took time to feed the kids, hug them,

and put them to bed,

fix the washer, gas the car, and – – oh yes,

the dogs had to be fed.

 

Call the old folks, say hello, and – –

my neighbor wanted to talk,

find my license, cap and coat, and – –

take the wife for a walk.

 

But when that was all done, and – –

I had time for myself,

I retrieved the pole and waders,

from the top of the shelf.

 

And talk about dumb luck,

not a thing was awry,

except that the tip of the rod,

was missing an eye.

View original post 119 more words

