Tags

, , , ,

8th Floor.

 Bartle Library

Bartle Library, Binghamton University, New York

 

I have reached a level of pure fear, profuse sweating and I hope not to soil my pants.

 

The screaming has reached a level I never knew was possible. There is pushing and shoving and hugging and crying and all things quite human. I detect the first odor of urine; surely it won’t be the last odor I experience. Hopefully it will be the odor of feces and not blood.

 

A chorus of “Our Father who art in heaven – – – seems to be gaining in membership, a multiplicity of “Ah Dios Mio!” are scattered here and there and then there is one lone “성모 마리아은 총—의 전체.”

 

I push the emergency button emblazoned with the icon of a bell. It rings but does nothing else. I continue slamming on it with my bare knuckles – – – but nothing occurs. We continue accelerating downward.

 

If there is a God he should appear now – – – or at least give us a sign.

 

Maybe the increased acceleration is a sign; but not the one we want. C’mon God! Give us something to hang onto. Hell, I would even be pleased with a few false prophets if they would show themselves.

 

Miracles have happened before. How about a simple miracle? How about the emergency braking system kicking in? I will tell everyone I meet that it was a miracle – – – honest, I will.

 

God, there are only seven more floors for you to do your work. Look! If I said I would proclaim a miracle don’t you think I would proclaim your Son a failure if you couldn’t find a way to stop this thing? That isn’t a threat. It is just the logic of you answering this prayer or not answering it. What would you expect from a human who is – – – all too human?

 

I beseech you; do the right thing.

 

Or is this the right thing? Do you want us dead? Did too many of the people in this elevator believe what the professor said? Are we now deemed as mental blasphemers and heretics?

 

What if there are three righteous people in this elevator? Will you really allow it to fall and not spare the lives of those righteous people in it? Far be it from you to do such a thing—to kill the righteous with the none-believers, treating the righteous and the wicked alike. Far be it from you! Will not the Judge of all the earth do right? What if there were just two righteous people?

 

I hear no answer. Deep down inside I hope that God is not really dead. Possibly he is just a little out of sorts today.

 

TOMORROW:  7th Floor

 

author1

