Tags

, , , ,

5 UG (Unter Grund)

 Bartle Library

Bartle Library, Binghamton University, New York

 

The little boat of my soul now sets sail, to course through gentler waters, leaving behind her a sea so cruel. And I will speak of that second region, where the human spirit is purged, and becomes fit to climb to Heaven. But, since I am yours, O sacred Muses, here let dead poetry rise again, and here let the calliope sound.

 

The sweet color of eastern dawn, that gathered on the skies, pure as far as the first day of who – – – or what – – – I was after I was I. This restored delight to my eyes, as soon as I was issued from the dead, which constrained my eyes and heart. The lovely planet that encourages us to love; it was making the whole east smile, veiling the sacred fishes that were once sins – – – thrown overboard – – – and hoping to come up in the nets of the saints as virtue. I turned to the right, and fixed my mind on the southern pole, and saw four stars, never seen, until now, except by Adam and his rib.

 

The sky seemed to be joyful at their passions. O widowed northern region, why have I been denied the sight of them!

TOMORROW:  6 UG  (Unter Grund)

 

author1

