Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The other relatives and friends of Vang Khan came over to my side without any delay.

 

They vied with each other to see who should most recommend themselves to my favor. A brother of Vang Khan, who was an influential and powerful chieftain, came among the rest to tender his services, and, by way of a present to conciliate my good will, he brought his daughter, whom he offered to me as an addition to the number of wives that I already had.

 

Of course, I received the brother very kindly. I accepted the present of his daughter, but, even though I already had plenty of wives. Besides, one of my principal officers, the Captain of the Guards, seemed to take a special fancy to her. I very generously passed over the young girl to him. Of course, the young girl had no say in the case. She was obliged to acquiesce in any arrangement which her father and the other khans thought proper to make.

 

The name of her father was Hakembu. He came into my camp with many misgivings, fearing that, as he was a brother of Vang Khan, I might feel a special resentment against him, and, perhaps, refuse to accept his submission and his proffered presents. When, therefore, he found how kindly he was received, his mind was greatly relieved, and he asked me to appoint him to some command in my army.

 

I replied that I would do it with great pleasure. Also, that I would appoint him quickly because it was the brother of Vang Khan who asked it. I said to Hakembu, “I owe you all the kind treatment in my power for your brother’s sake, in return for the succor and protection for which I was indebted to him, in my misfortunes, in former times. When he received me, a fugitive and an exile, at his court, and bestowed upon me so many favors I was forever indebted to him. I have never forgotten, and never shall forget, the great obligations I am under to him. Although in later years he turned against me, still I have never blamed either him or his son Sankum for this, but have constantly attributed it to the false representations and evil influence of Yemuka, who has always been my implacable enemy. I do not, therefore, feel any resentment against Yang Khan for having thus turned against me, nor do I any less respect his memory on that account ; and I am very glad that an opportunity now occurs for me to make, through you, his brother, some small acknowledgment of the debt of gratitude which I owe him.”

 

So, I gave Hakembu an honorable post in my army, and treated him in with all respect and with great consideration. I acted usually in this generous manner. Therefore, it is not at all surprising that I acquired that boundless influence over the minds of my followers which aided me so essentially in attaining my future greatness and renown.

 

In the meantime, although Sankum was killed, Yemuka had succeeded in making his escape, and, after meeting with various adventures, he finally reached the country of Tayian. He had with him all that remnants of Vang Khan’s army that had saved themselves from being killed or made prisoners, and also a great number of officers. These broken troops Yemuka had reorganized, as well as he could, by collecting the scattered remnants and rearranging the broken squadrons. In this manner, Yemuka, accompanied by the sick and wounded who were able to ride, arrived in Tayian’s dominions. He was known to be a general of great abilities, and he was very favorably received in Tayian’s court.

YEMUKA

§

Next post;  #58    Yemuka and Tayian Plot

author1

