Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

These traitorous steps of Tayian and Yemuka were all taken with great secrecy. Yemuka and Tayian were very desirous that I should know nothing of the league which they were forming against me until their arrangements were fully matured, and they were ready for action. They did not, however, succeed in keeping the secret for long; as they intended. They were generally careful not to propose to any khan or chieftain to join them in their league until they had first fully ascertained that he was favorable to the object of it. But, growing less cautious as they went on, they at last made a mistake. Tayian sent proposals to a certain prince or khan, named Alakus, inviting him to join the league.

 

These proposals were contained in a letter which was sent by a special messenger. The letter specified all the plans of the league, with a statement of the plot which the allies were intending to pursue, and an enumeration of the principal khans or tribes that were already engaged. Now it happened that this Alakus, who reigned over a nation of numerous and powerful tribes on the edge of China, was, for some reason or other, inclined to take my side in the quarrel. He detained the messenger who brought the letter and kept him prisoner. Alakus then sent the letter which contained all the details of the conspiracy to me.

I was greatly surprised at receiving the intelligence, for, up to that moment, I had considered my father-in-law, Tayian, as one of my best and most trustworthy friends.

 

I immediately called a grand council of war to consider what was to be done.

§

Next post;  #60    Alakus; the khan from China

author1

