Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I took good care, as I advanced, to not exhaust the strength of my men, animals, and the stores of food.

 

I also took care to provide and to take with me abundant war supplies, and also to advance so carefully and by such easy stages as to keep both the men and the horses fresh and in full strength. In this order and condition I arrived at the spot where Tayian had formed his camp and assembled his armies.

 

Tayian immediately marshaled his troops for battle. Yemuka was chief in command on Tayian’s side. He was assisted by a young prince, the son of Tayian, whose name was Kushluk. On the other hand, Jughi, my young son, who had been brought forward at the council, was appointed to a very prominent position on my side. Indeed, these two young princes, who were exercised by an intense feeling of rivalry toward each other, were appointed to lead the van on their respective sides in commencing the battle. Jughi advanced first to the attack and was met by Kushluk, who was committed to charge and repelling him. The two princes fought throughout the battle with the utmost bravery, and both acquired great fame.

 

The battle was commenced early in the morning and continued all day. In the end, I was completely victorious.

Tayian was mortally wounded early in the day. He was immediately taken off the field, and every possible effort was made to save his life, but he soon died. His son, Prince Kushluk, fought valiantly during the entire day, but toward night, finding that all was lost, he fled, taking with him as many of the troops as he could succeed in getting together in the confusion, and at the head of this band made the best of his way into the dominions of one of his uncles, his father’s brother, where he hoped to find a temporary shelter until he should have time to determine what was to be done. As for Yemuka, after fighting with desperate fury all day, he was at last, toward night, surrounded and overpowered, and so made my prisoner.

I ordered his head to be cut off immediately. I considered him, not as an honorable and open foe, but rather as a rebel and traitor, and, consequently, undeserving of any mercy.

§

Next post;  #62    The Mongolian Empire is Formed

author1

