Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

By 1203 there was a vast extent of country under my dominion.

This territory consisted of a very large portion of the interior of the Asiatic Continent, and, indeed, an immense number of wealthy, powerful hordes, under my care. I resolved to consolidate these varying groups by organizing a regular government. There were a few more battles to be fought. I had to subdue certain khans who still resisted, and some cities were to be taken. But these victories were soon obtained, and, in very short order after the great battle with Tayian, I found myself the undisputed master of what to me was almost the whole known world. All open opposition to my rule had wholly disappeared, and nothing now remained for me to do but to perfect the organization of my army, to enact a code of laws, to decide where my capital should be located and to generally establish a system of civil government, such as is required, for the management of the internal affairs of a great empire.

 

I made Karakorom my capital.

 

 

Accordingly, I proceeded there at the head of my troops. I entered Karakorom to great acclaim. I established a very brilliant court at Karakorom. During the Winter I was occupied with the preliminary arrangements for the organization and consolidation of my empire. A continual succession of ambassadors from the various nations and tribes of central Asia came to congratulate me on my victories, and to offer the allegiance or the alliance of the khans which they respectively represented.

 

These ambassadors came attended by troops of horsemen splendidly dressed and fully armed, and the gayety and magnificence of the scenes which were witnessed in Karakorom.

These surpassed all that had ever been seen there before. In the meantime, while the attention of the masses of the people was occupied and amused by these parades, I was developing, in my head, the form of constitution which I should establish for my empire, and the system of laws by which my people should be governed. I conferred privately with some of my ablest counselors on this subject, and caused a system of government and a code of laws to be drawn up by scribes. The details of these proposed enactments were discussed in the privacy of my council. When the whole concept had been well digested I sent out a summons to all the great princes and khans throughout my dominions to assemble at an appointed day, so that I might explain my proposed system to them.

§

Next post;  #63    The Establishment and Control of Provinces

author1

