Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The election was over and one of the oldest and most venerable of the khans was chosen announce the result.

 

He came forward with great solemnity, and, in the presence of the whole assembly, declared that the choice had fallen upon me (of course). He then made a personal address, to me. I was seated during this part of the ceremony upon a carpet of black felt spread upon the ground. In the address the khan informed me that the exalted authority with which I was now invested came from God, and that I was responsible to God. He said “If you govern your subjects well, God will render your reign prosperous and joyful; but if, on the other hand, you abuse your power, you will come to a miserable end.”

 

After the conclusion of the address, seven of the khans, who had been designated for this purpose, came and lifted me up and took me to a throne which had been set up for me amid the assembly. All the khans, and their various bodies of attendants, came and offered me their homage.

 

Among these was a certain old prophet, named Kokza, who was held in great esteem by all the people because of his supposed inspiration and the austere life which Kokza led. He walked around very thinly clad, and with his feet bare summer and winter, and it was supposed that his power of enduring these exposures to the climate something miraculous and divine. He had received accordingly from the people a name which signified the image of God, and he was looked upon as inspired. He said, moreover, that a white horse came to him from time to time and carried him up to heaven, where he conversed face to face with God, and received the revelations which he was commissioned to make to men. All this the people fully believed.

 

The man may have been an impostor, or he may have been insane. Often times, in such cases, the inspiration which the person supposes he is the subject of arises from a certain spiritual exaltation, which, though it does not wholly unfit him for the ordinary avocations and duties of life, still verges upon insanity, and often finally lapses into it entirely.

 

This old prophet advanced toward me while I was seated on my black carpet of felt, and made a solemn address to me in the hearing of all the assembled khans. He was charged, he said, with a message from heaven in respect to my kingdom and dominion which had been, he declared, was ordained by God, and had now been established in fulfillment of the Divine will. He was also commissioned, he said, to give to me the title of Genghis Khan, and to declare that my kingdom should not only endure while I lived, but should continue, from generation to generation, forever.

 

The people, on hearing this address, at once adopted the name which the prophet had given me.  and called out to me with it in long and loud acclamations. It was thus that I received the name of Genghis Khan, which soon extended my fame through every part of Asia, and has since then I have become greatly renowned through all the world.

§

Next post;  #66    Speeches and Gift Giving

author1

