Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Prince Kushluk, as you will perhaps recollect, was the son of Tayian, the khan of the Naymans, who organized the grand league of khans against me at the instigation of Yemnka. He was the young prince who was opposed to Jughi, my son, in the great final battle. Youo may also recollect that in that battle Tayian and also Yemuka were killed, but young Prince Kushluk succeeded in making his escape. He was accompanied in his flight by a certain general or chieftain named Tukta Bey. This Tukta Bey was the khan of a powerful tribe. The name of the town or village which he considered his capital was Kashin. It was situated not far from the borders of China. Tukta Bey, taking Kushluk with him, retreated to this place, and there began to make preparations to collect a new army to act against me. I say me, for these circumstances took place immediately after the battle, and before I had received my new title of Genghis Khan.

 

I, having learned that Tukta Bey and the young prince had gone to Kashin, determined at once to follow them there. As soon as Tukta Bey heard that Ihe was coming, he began to strengthen the fortifications of his town and to increase the garrison. He also laid in supplies of food and military stores of all kinds. While he was making these preparations, he received the news that I was advancing into his country at the head of an immense force. My force was so large that he was convinced that his town could not hold out against it. He was greatly perplexed.

 

Now it happened that there was a brother of Tayian Khan’s, named Boyrak, the chief of a powerful horde that occupied a district of country not very far distant from Tukta Bey’s dominions. Tukta Bey thought that Boyrak would be easily induced to aid him in the war, as it was a war waged against the mortal enemy of his brother. He determined to leave his capital to be defended by the garrison which he had placed in it, and to proceed himself to Boyrak’s country to obtain re-enforcements. He first sent off the Prince Kushluk, so that he might be as soon as possible in a place of safety. Then, after completing the necessary arrangements and dispositions for the defense of his town, in case it should be attacked during his absence, he took his oldest son, for whose safety he was also greatly concerned, and set out at the head of a small troop of horsemen to go to Boyrak. Accordingly, when I, at the head of my forces, arrived at the town of Kashin, I found that the fugitives whom I was pursuing were no longer there. However, I was determined to take the town. I commenced the siege. The garrison made a very determined resistance. But the forces under my command were too strong for them. The town was soon taken.

 

I ordered my soldiers to slay without mercy all who were found in arms against him within the walls, and the walls themselves, and all the other defenses of the place, I caused to be leveled to the ground. I then issued a proclamation, offering peace and pardon to all the rest of the tribe on condition that they would take the oath of allegiance to me. This they readily agreed to do. There were a great many subordinate khans, both of this tribe and of some others that were near, who thus yielded to me, and promised to obey me.

 

All this took place, as I have already said, immediately after the great battle with Tayiaand before I had been enthroned as emperor, or had received my new and glorious title of Genghis Khan.

 

I, while making this expedition to Kashin in pursuit of Kushluk and Tukta Bey, had been somewhat uneasy at the loss of time which the campaign caused me, as I was anxious to go as soon as possible to Karakorom, in order to take the necessary measures there for arranging and consolidating my government. I accordingly now determined not to pursue the fugitives any farther, but to proceed at once to Karakorom, and postpone all farther operations against Kushluk and Tukta until the next season. I went to Karakorom, and there, during the course of the winter, formed the constitution of my new empire, and made arrangements for convening a grand assembly of the khans the next spring.

 

In the meantime, Tukta Bey and the Prince Kushluk were very kindly received by Boyrak, Tayian’s brother. For a time they all had reason to expect that I, after having taken and destroyed Kashin, would continue my pursuit of the prince, and Boyrak began accordingly to make preparations for defense. But when, at length, they learned that I had given up the pursuit, and had returned to Karakorom, their apprehensions were, for the moment, relieved. They were, however, well aware that the danger was only postponed; and Boyrak, being determined to defend the cause of his nephew, and to avenge, if possible, his brother’s death, occupied himself diligently with increasing his army, strengthening his fortifications, and providing himself with all possible means of defense against the attack which he expected would be made upon him in the coming season.

§

Next post;  #69    Tukta Bey, Kushlluk and Boyrak

author1

