Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Another great and powerful khan, named Idikut, whose tribe had hitherto been under the dominion of Gurkhan, the Prince of Turkestan, where Kushluk had sought refuge. Idikut, about this time revolted from Gurkhan and came over to my side, under circumstances which illustrate, in some degree, the peculiar nature of the political ties by which tribes and nations are bound – – – or not bound – – – to each other.

 

Idikut

Idikut, in order to shield himself from the consequences of the killing of Gurkhan’s favorite tax collector, determined to join himself and his tribe at once to the my glorious empire; so he immediately dispatched two ambassadors to the me with his proposals. The envoys, accompanied by a suitable troop of guards and attendants, went into the Mongol country and presently found me while I was on a march toward the country of some tribe or horde that had revolted. They were very kindly received; for, although I was not prepared at present to make open war upon Gurkhan, or to invade his dominions in pursuit of Prince Kushluk, I was intending to at some future day. In the meantime, I was very glad to weaken Gurkhan’s army by drawing off from his empire any tributary tribes that were at all disposed to revolt from him. I accordingly received the ambassadors of Idikut in a very cordial and friendly manner. I readily acceded to the proposals which Idikut made through them, and, in order to give full proof to Idikut of the readiness and sincerity with which I accepted his proposals, I sent back two ambassadors of my own to accompany Idikut’s ambassadors on their return. This was meant to assure Idikut of the cordiality with which I accepted his offers of friendship, and to promise his protection. Idikut was very pleased to learn that his mission had been so successful. He immediately determined to visit me in my camp, in order to confirm the new alliance by making a personal tender to me of his homage and his services. He accordingly prepared some splendid presents, and, placing himself at the head of his troop of guards, he proceeded to my camp. I received him in a very kind and friendly manner. I accepted Idikut’s presents, and, in the end, I was so much pleased with Idikut himself that I gave him one of my daughters in marriage.

 

As for Gurkhan, when he first heard of the murder of his favorite tax collector and the tax collector’s officers, he was in a terrible rage. He declared that he would revenge his servant by laying waste Idikut’s territories with fire and sword. But when he heard that Idikut had placed himself under my protection and especially when he learned that Idikut had married my daughter, Gurkhan thought it more prudent to postpone his vengeance, not being quite willing to draw upon himself the hostility of so great a power as mine.

 

Prince Kushluk remained for many years in Turkestan and in the countries adjoining it. He married a daughter of Gurkhan, his protector. Partly in consequence of this connection and of the high, rank which he had held in his own native land, and partly, perhaps, in consequence of his personal courage and other military qualities, Kushluk rapidly acquired great influence among the khans of Western Asia, and at last he organized a sort of rebellion against Gurkhan, made war against him, and deprived him of more than half his dominions. Kushluk then collected a large army, and prepared to make war upon me, The Great Genghis Khan. I sent one of my best generals, at the head of a small but very compact and well-disciplined force, against him. The name of this general was Jena.

 

Kushluk was not at all intimidated by the danger which now threatened him. His own army was much larger than that of Jena, and he accordingly advanced to meet his enemy without fear. He was, however, beaten in the battle, and, when he saw that the day was lost, he fled, followed by a small party of horsemen, who succeeded in saving themselves with him. Jena set out immediately in pursuit of the fugitive, accompanied by a small body of men mounted on the fleetest horses. The party who were with Kushluk, being exhausted by the fatigue of the battle and bewildered by the excitement and terror of their flight, could not keep together, but were overtaken one by one and slain by their pursuers until only three were left. The three stayed close to Kushluk, and with him went on until Jena’s party lost the track of them. Upon coming to a place where two roads met, Jena asked a peasant if he had seen any strange horsemen pass that way. The peasant said that four horsemen had passed a short time before, and he told Jena which road they had taken.

Jena and his party rode on in the direction which the peasant had indicated, and, pushing forward with redoubled speed, they soon overtook the unhappy fugitives. They fell upon Kushluk without mercy, and killed him on the spot They then cut off his head, and turned back to carry it to me. I rewarded Jena in the most magnificent manner for his successful performance of this exploit, and then, putting Kushluk’s head upon a pole, I displayed it in all the camps and villages through which I passed, where it served at once as a token and a trophy of my glorious victory against an enemy, and, at the same time, as a warning to all other persons of the terrible danger which they would incur in attempting to resist my power.

 

§

Next post;  #72    The Great Wall of China

author1

