Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Egil kills a farmhand

When we reached home that night, after my father had killed Thord and Thorgerd, I was in a fit. My father sat down at the table with the family but I would not join them. I went to the great hall and found a man my father particularly liked. He was in charge of all the farm hands. I struck him dead and went back to join the others at the table.

Word immediately reached my father but he said nothing. That was the end of the episode.

However, my father and I never spoke another word all winter.

Thorolf was readying his ship to return to Norway. I asked if I could join him and he told me that if my father could not control me in Iceland how was he to control me abroad. He had finished the preparations and his ship was docked in Brakar Sound; the same place were father had killed Thorgerd.

I was quite disturbed with Thorolf so when night fell I went to Braker Sound. I cut the ropes on the seaward side of his ship and then the ties on the landward side. The wind was quite stiff and carried the ship out to sea. Thorolf’s men could not catch up with it until it went aground at Andakil.

When confronted by Thorolf I told him that I would continue this game until he agreed to take me with him.

He agreed. I was headed abroad.

At one point in our trip I saw Thorolf throw an old broken and sooty axe overboard. I asked him if it could not be salvaged. He did not answer.

When we arrived Thorolf was told that Brynjolf had died. His two sons had divided their inheritance. One of them, Thord, became the king’s retainer and a land-holder. Thord had a daughter called Rannveig. She had two sons; one was called Helgi and the other Thord. This Thord also had a daughter that he named Rannveig. She was the mother of Ingrid who married St. Olaf.

Helgi, the son of the first Rannveig, was the father of Brynjolf who was the father of Serck of Sogn and Svein.

Red Banner