Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

drunk vikings

The drinking at Armod’s farm went on for some time. When my men could not finish their horns I would finish it for them. Soon I realized I could hardly stand up.

I wobbled to my feet and stumbled over to where Armod was. I placed my hands on his shoulders and proceeded to vomit in his face.

Armod, likewise, vomited on me.

The servants were furious and called me insulting names. I told them that “All was equal” because Armod had vomited on me. I then made a verse.

With my spew I swear

Thanks for your sociability!

We have witnesses that

I could walk the floor:

Many a guest’s gift

Is even more gushing;

Now the ale has ended up

All over Armod.

 

Armod ran out of the building while I asked for more ale. The wife told the serving man to continue on as long as I wanted to drink. I took a great ox-horn and swilled it down in one gulp. I then made a verse.

 

Let’s swallow each swig

This sailor keeps serving;

The bard is kept busy

With barely a break:

Not a lick shall I leave

Of this malted liquor,

Though the fellow keep filling

Fresh horns till day break.

 

My men and I, at daybreak, went to the granary where our horses were. We laid down in the straw and slept for quite some time.

Red Banner