Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Egil Arrives

 

In the middle of the afternoon I rode in with eighty of my men.

What an impression I must have made riding up to the Althing from Gljufur River.

Our shields were glinting in the sun. I rode at the head of my men. I was wearing the blue cloak with the gold braid. My helmet was gilded and my gold adorned shield was at my side. I held a barbed spear high in my hand just to set the tone. The handle also was covered with gold. Hanging from my waist was my sword.

I had eighty of my best men and strong sons of farmers. It was obvious to everyone that I meant for things to go my way at the Assembly.

My men put their weapons and other gear in the large empty booth that Thorstein had erected just for that purpose.

Then Thorstein, I and our men took our regular places at the assembly.

Red Banner

