Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Egil Curses the land 2

We returned to the farm where Rognvald was staying. Everyone ran for their lives; men, women and children. We allowed them to escape but, once again, pillaged everything that was valuable and moveable. We carried it all back to the ship.

The wind was picking up and the men were ready to sail. I asked for a favor of time. They granted it.

I found a substantial pole and placed on it a horsehead that remained from the slaughter. The pole was stuck deep into the soil near a cliff with the horsehead facing the island.

I then spoke these words.

“Here I set up a pole of insult against King Eirik and Queen Gunnhild, and I direct this insult against the guardian spirits of this land, so tht everyone of them shall go astray, neither to figure nor find their dwelling places until they have driven King Eirik and Queen Gunnhild from this country.”

If Asgerd and I could not have her inheritance then no one would.

As we sailed out to open sea I made a verse.

 

The mast-beater blows,

The bow chisels

The smooth sea

Into spraystorms:

The wild willow-shaker

Whirls hard and cold,

Savaging the breast

Of my sailing swan.

 

We crossed the great ocean and made harbor at Borg in Iceland. I stayed at the house of my father, Skallagrim. My men found other lodging.

Father was getting very old.

Red Banner