Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Egils compensation

After Christmas it was time for me to think about what I was going to do about Ljot the Pale’s money that I had rightfully earned. The law said that anyone who killed a foreigner had the rights to claim all his property. Because Ljot was from Sweden the money should have been mine.

But that was not the case. King Hakon’s men had claimed the money on his behalf.

I became sullen and Arinbjorn asked if I was ill. I told him what was bothering me. I then asked that because he was friends with King Hakon could he speak on my behalf. Arinbjorn was not pleased with the idea. He agreed to speak for me only because of our long friendship.

The day arrived for the meeting between the two. I was not there because Arinbjorn asked me to stay at his place for fear I would lose my head.

It was not a good meeting. King Hakon was very upset when he heard that I was staying with Arinbjorn. He accused Arinbjorn of harboring a criminal and reminded him that I was never to set foot in Norway again. He then told Arinbjorn that maybe he, Arinbjorn, should think about leaving Norway and staying with his sons in England. Arinbjorn understood the king’s message clearly and did not pursue the subject any farther.

I was unhappy and returned to my sullen state.

A few days later Arinbjorn called me into a special room. He had a chest open and it was full of silver. He counted out forty marks worth and told me I should take it on behalf of Fridgeir for saving his life against Ljot.

I was quite pleased with the compensation.

Red Banner